Glossary of Computer Security Terms

This page provides explanations of some of the terms and abbreviations commonly used in computer security.

Acronym for Active Directory. Microsoft's implementation of an LDAP directory. A directory is a central database containing all the data and authentication information of the users of a computer network.
ANSSI
Acronym of National Information Systems Security Agency (in French). As its name indicates, it is the governmental organization that aims to coordinate the efforts of the French professional computer security community. Its role is to issue recommendations and disseminate knowledge to secure information systems, and also to provide support to businesses and local authorities.
CERT
Acronym of Computer Emergency Response Team. A centre with two objectives: to alert companies and administrations and to react to computer attacks, but also to take proactive steps to inform and raise awareness in order to prevent such attacks. In addition, the various CERTs are encouraged to communicate with each other and coordinate their efforts to ensure a better transmission of information.
CNIL
Acronym of National Commission of Computer Sciences and Liberties (in French). French and independant administrative authority, created with the "Loi Informatique et Libertés" (LIL) law of 1978, tasked with accompanying companies that collect personal data and fining those that do not respect the rules.
CSIRT
Acronym of Computer Security Incident Response Team. This term is used instead of CERT in countries other than the United States, as CERT is a registered trademark of the Carnegie-Mellon University.
CSRF
Acronym of Cross-Service Request Forgery. A type of vulnerability in an application that does not sufficiently check the permissions a user benefits before performing an action. The attacker is attempting to execute, by various means, a URL by an administrator logged into the application. It then performs the sensitive action, such as adding a user or privileges to a user, without ensuring that the original administrator has voluntarily triggered it.
CVE
Acronym of Common Vulnerabilities and Exposure. The CVE system allows for the identification and classification of software vulnerabilities found around the world. Each vulnerability is assigned a unique identifier including the year of discovery, as well as a CVSS score.
CVSS
Acronym of Common Vulnerability Scoring System. This is the software vulnerability rating system that allows you to assign a criticality rating to each vulnerability. This score is composed of different criteria, including the vulnerability exploitation conditions (need to be connected to the service, or simply to access it remotely), the ease of exploitation (accessible to an inexperienced attacker), and the impact on the security of the vulnerable system. The ANSSI classification scale we use in our audit reports is ultimately a simplification of this system.
DC
Acronym of Domain Controller. A domain controller is a Windows server that controls and administers all the machines in a Windows corporate network. So it's one or more very privileged machines that are usually the target of attackers.
DA
Acronym of Domain Admin. A domain administrator is a user account on corporate Windows networks that has the necessary privileges to connect to domain controllers to perform administrative operations on the computer network. So it's one or more very privileged accounts that are usually the target of attackers.
DCP
Acronym of Personal Data (in French). Personal data corresponds to information that can identify, directly or indirectly by cross-referencing information, a natural person. Some examples of personal data: first name, last name and photograph of course, but also place and date of birth, pseudonym, reservation number, blood group, IP address, voice sample...
DDOS
Acronym of Distributed Denial Of Service. An attack that aims to saturate a computer server's resources by bombarding it with requests from a large number of different IP addresses. Opponents who carry out these kinds of attacks usually control a network of bots or zombie computers, i.e. computers that have been infected and are silently controlled by the attacker.
DPD
Acronym of Delegate to the Protection of Data. It is the French name for a DPO.
DPO
Acronym of Data Protection Officer. This is the person in charge of data security in a company, in particular the personal data that the company may hold. This is the liaison point between the company and the CNIL for all matters relating to personal data.
ECSC
Acronym of the European Cyber Security Challenge. An IT security competition for young enthusiasts between 14 and 25 years of age, where teams from different European countries compete against each other in various security challenges.
EDR
Acronym of Endpoint Detection and Response. A technology used on endpoints, i.e. computers and servers, to detect and potentially stop suspicious activity. EDR are supposed to detect malicious behavior more than malicious and easily circumvented file signatures, which is usually a function attributed to antivirus solutions.
EVPN
Acronym of Ethernet Virtual Private Network. A network protocol designed to encrypt data traveling over a link. Being on the lower layers of the OSI model, encryption is supposed to be performed there in a more efficient and optimized manner than traditional VPN solutions.
FIC
Acronym of International Cybersecurity Forum (in French). AlgoSecure has been present at this annual IT security meeting for several years now, taking place at the Grand Palais in Lille at the end of January. Come see us and meet some of our team members!
FOVI
Acronym of False Wire Transfer Orders (in French). A social engineering attack in which the attacker aims to have a company make a fraudulent bank transfer to another bank account under his or her control. It's also called "wire fraud", or "president scam", because the identity of the company president is often impersonated.
GPO
Acronym of Group Policy Object. GPOs are settings, deployed by the administrators of a Windows computer network, on all or part of the company's workstations and servers. These settings can apply restrictions, privileges, scripts, or change system settings without the administrator having to perform these operations manually on every machine in the environment.
ICS
Acronym of Industrial Control System. A global term that designates all the equipments used to control and monitor industrial systems. SCADA (Supervisory Control and Data Acquisition) is one type of industrial control system among others.
IDS
Acronym of Intrusion Detection System. A system that monitors a computer network for attacks in real time, using mechanisms based primarily on behaviour or reputation Some may also base their detection on a signature mechanism, although this approach is becoming less and less effective, at least against targeted attacks.
IPS
Acronym of Intrusion Prevention System. It's an advanced IDS system that also has capabilities to block detected attacks.
LAN
Acronym of Local Area Network Strong. Refers to the internal computer network of a company, i.e. the network that connects servers and workstations to each other, which is supposed to be unreachable from the Internet. As opposed to the WAN, which refers to the external part of the computer network exposed on the Internet.
LAPS
Acronym of Local Admin Admin Password Solution. An enterprise IT security solution provided by Microsoft to easily manage the local administration of all servers and workstations. Rather than setting a single password for all local Administrator accounts on servers and workstations, LAPS allows for a different local Administrator account password per machine.
LDAP
Acronym of Lightweight Directory Access Protocol. A protocol that defines how to communicate with a directory in order to read or write data. Over time, it has developed and now defines how to classify, store and name data in a directory.
LLMNR
Acronym of Link-local Multicast Name Resolution. A name resolution protocol, successor of NBT-NS, allowing to match an IP address with a machine name, exclusively on a local network. It is usually used in Windows corporate networks, but suffers from an intrinsic vulnerability that usually allows an attacker to steal user authentication data. It is therefore strongly advised to disable it, after installing a functional DNS server on the company network.
MARION
Acronym of Level-Optimized Computer Risk Analysis Method (in French). It is a French risk analysis method, like the EBIOS method for example. The aim is to propose a method for identifying the risks to which a company is exposed so that it can act on them. This is the ancestor of the MEHARI method (Harmonized Method of Risk Analysis, in French).
MCO
Acronym of Operational Conditions Maintainment (in French). The final phase of an IT project to ensure its sustainability over time. In concrete terms, this means the supervision, maintenance and updating of computer resources. Unfortunately, this is often an underestimated phase in a project, but it is the one that can reduce the likelihood of a security incident.
MSP
Acronym of strong>Managed Service Provider. An IT services company that administers and supervises the services of its clients remotely. The advantage of an MSP is to benefit from a recurring source of income, thanks to a subscription-based approach, while relieving its customers of the management of their information system.
NBT-NS
Acronym of NetBIOS over TCP/IP Name Service. A naming system developed by IBM and used by Windows to make the different machines on a network communicate with each other. It is usually used in Windows corporate networks, but suffers from an intrinsic vulnerability that usually allows an attacker to steal user authentication data. It is therefore strongly advised to disable it, after installing a functional DNS server on the company network.
NTDS
Acronym of strong>New Technologies Directory Services. This is the former name of Active Directory. Usually refers to the database that stores the entire directory, i.e. the information and privileges of users on a Windows computer network. It contains, among other things, the NTLM hashes of the passwords of users on the corporate Windows network, and is therefore highly prized by attackers.
NTLM
Acronym of Strong>New Technologies Lan Manager. An authentication mechanism in Windows computing environments. Usually refers to the fingerprint or hash generated by such a mechanism to store the password of a Windows system user. For purposes of differentiation, the network authentication protocol is generally referred to as Net-NTLM and exists in two versions: Net-NTLMv1 and Net-NTLMv2.
OIV
Acronym of Vital Importance Operator (in French). It is a French term used to identify organizations that play a critical or dangerous role for the population. Special security requirements apply to these organizations. There may be companies involved in energy, transportation, communications, hazardous materials production, military or research activities. The list is not being released publicly.
OWASP
Acronym of Open Web Application Security Project. An open community governed by a non-profit organization working to secure the web in the broadest sense. It provides security recommendations for publishers, as well as guides and tools for assessing the security of applications. It regularly publishes a list of the most exploited security vulnerabilities on the web, the well-known OWASP Top 10.
PCA
Acronym of Business Continuity Plan. A set of measures enabling a company to continue to operate in the event of a disaster, breakdown or major incident, while minimising the duration of any interruption. One of the first steps is to conduct a risk analysis.
PDCA
Acronym of Plan, Do, Check, Act, strong. Also known as "Deming's Wheel", it's a common sense method that can be applied to all areas. The idea is to follow a methodological process aimed at improving a product or service, or solving a problem, in an efficient and sustainable manner. We plan an evolution, implement it, check the result of the implementation, then act to correct it and adjust if necessary. Then we start again.
PRA
Acronym of Business Recovery Plan (in French). A set of procedures to be carried out after a major accident has occurred within a company, which has forced it to temporarily cease its activity. As with the BCP, one of the first steps is to conduct a risk analysis.
PLC
Acronym of Programmable Logic Controller. These are computers specifically designed to control industrial systems. They are optimized to function with industrial machines in harsh environments where temperature, vibrations and dust can complicate operations.
PSSI
Acronym of Information System Security Policy (in French). A reference document listing a set of rules and policies aimed at ensuring the security of an information system and reflecting the strategy of the company or organisation.
PTES
Acronym of Penetration Testing Execution Standard. A reference document that lists the steps and methods to be followed in conducting a penetration test. It's a standard that any service company offering penetration testing has to meet, and of course we do.
RGPD
Acronym of General Data Protection Regulation (in French). European regulation that came into force in May 2018 and defines how companies that process personal data of European citizens should access, handle and secure these data. It also reinforces and grants a number of rights to European citizens, who can exercise them with companies that hold their personal data. Finally, it provides for dissuasive sanctions for companies that fail to comply with the Regulation.
SAM
Acronym of Security Account Manager. The local database for storing the NTLM hash of local user accounts in a Windows system. The SAM database is physically stored in a file, and is also integrated into the Windows registry. Access to this database and the information it contains obviously requires high privileges on the system.
SIEM
Acronym of Security Information and Event Management. It is a system that centralizes the event logs of a company's computer systems, and allows for the analysis and correlation of all these traces in order to identify and understand a computer attack. SIEMs also allow these traces to be kept for archiving purposes, and the most advanced among them can also replay security events to allow defensive teams to perfect their defences.
SIIV
Acronym of Vital Information System (in French). This acronym designates the information system of an VIO, the IS (Information System) of an VIO is therefore a VIS. Specific rules laid down by the Prime Minister's Office are applicable to VIS according to the sector of activity of the VIO that administers them.
SMSI
Acronym of Information Security Management System (in French). It is a set of rules and policies governing the management of information security. An ISMS focuses more on processes and people than on technology to ensure information security.
SOC
Acronym of Security Operation Center. SOC means the team in a company that oversees the security of its information system. The purpose of a SOC is to manage security incidents and monitor a company's assets in order to respond quickly and effectively against attacks.
SQLi
Acronym of SQL injection. SQL (Structured Query Language) is a language that allows a website or software application to communicate with a database. An SQL injection is an attack that exploits a vulnerability in the application communicating with the database, allowing it to hijack its original operation in order to illegitimately read or modify data.
SSL
Acronym of Secure Socket Layer. The SSL protocol governs the way in which a computer and a server securely exchange data, specifically the layer of encryption that protects data from potential interception during transmission between the two parties. This term is less and less used nowadays, in favor of the evolution of this protocol called TLS.
SYSVOL
Acronym of SYStem VOLume. A network share, accessible to all users on a Windows corporate network, that is used to store scripts or GPOs for automatic use by Windows systems that have access to it.
TLS
Acronym of Transport Layer Security. This is the evolution of the SSL protocol. This new name was adopted in part because of the structural differences between the two protocols, and the security gains brought by TLS. Different versions of this protocol exist, the most recent being version 1.3.
WAF
Acronym of Web Application Firewall. It is a tool designed to be placed upstream of a web server, and is intended to block certain basic attack attempts such as SQL injections or XSS vulnerabilities. WAFs are notoriously difficult to implement due to the false positives they can generate, and are relatively efficient. In this, it is generally advisable to integrate them as a last resort, when the potentially vulnerable application they protect cannot be secured within an acceptable time frame.
WAN
Acronym of Wide Area Network. It is a wide computer network, for example, linking all the resources of a society between different cities, regions or countries. The Internet is often referred to as the largest of the WANs.
XSS
Acronym of Cross-Site Scripting. A type of vulnerability in a web application in which the attacker is able to execute Javascript code in the browser of another user of the application, without his or her knowledge. A lack of filtering of the data entered and/or a lack of encoding of the data display is exploited for this purpose.

You've enabled "Do Not Track" in your browser, we respect that choice and don't track your visit on our website.

Glossaire de sécurité informatique

Cette page donne des explications sur certain des termes et abréviations couramment utilisés en sécurité informatique.

AD
ANSSI
Acronyme de Agence Nationale de la Sécurité des Systèmes d'Information. Comme son nom l'indique, il s'agit de l'organisation gouvernementale visant à coordonner les efforts de la communauté de sécurité informatique professionnelle française. Son rôle est d'éditer des recommandations et diffuser des connaissances permettant de sécuriser les systèmes d'information, et également de fournir un support aux entreprises et collectivités.
CERT
Acronyme de Computer Emergency Response Team. Un centre qui possède deux objectifs : alerter les entreprises et administrations et réagir face aux attaques informatiques, mais également mener des démarches proactives d'information et de sensibilisation permettant d'éviter de telles attaques. Par ailleurs, les différents CERT sont encouragés à communiquer entre eux et coordonner leurs efforts afin d'assurer une meilleure transmission de l'information.
CSIRT
Acronyme de Computer Security Incident Response Team. Ce terme est utilisé à la place de CERT dans les pays autres que les États-Unis, étant donné que le terme CERT est une marque déposée par l'Université américaine Carnegie-Mellon.
CSRF
Acronyme de Cross-Service Request Forgery. Un type de vulnérabilité d'une application qui ne vérifie pas suffisamment les autorisations dont un utilisateur bénéficie pour effectuer une action. L'attaquant cherche à faire exécuter, par différents moyens, une URL à un administrateur connecté à l'application. Cette dernière effectue alors l'action généralement sensible, par un exemple un ajout d'utilisateur ou de privilèges à un utilisateur, sans s'assurer que l'administrateur à l'origine l'ait volontairement déclenchée.
CVE
Acronyme de Common Vulnerabilities and Exposure. Le système CVE permet l'identification et la classification des vulnérabilités logicielles recensées de par le monde. Chaque vulnérabilité se voit attribuer un identifiant unique composé de l'année de découverte, ainsi que d'un score CVSS.
CVSS
Acronyme de Common Vulnerability Scoring System. Il s'agit du système de notation des vulnérabilités logicielles permettant d'attriuer une criticité juste à chaque vulnérabilité. Ce score est composé de différents critères, notamment les conditions d'exploitation de la vulnérabilité (nécessité d'être connecté au service, ou simplement d'y accéder à distance), la facilité d'exploitation (accessible pour un attaquant peu expérimenté ou non), et l'impact sur la sécurité du système vulnérable. L'échelle de classification l'ANSSI que nous utilisons dans nos rapports d'audit est finalement une simplification de ce système.
DC
Acronyme de Domain Controller. Un contrôleur de domaine est un serveur Windows qui permet de piloter et administrer l'ensemble des machines d'un réseau Windows d'entreprise. Il s'agit donc d'une ou plusieurs machines très privilégiées qui sont généralement la cible des attaquants.
DA
Acronyme de Domain Admin. Un administrateur de domaine est un compte d'utilisateur sur les réseaux Windows d'entreprise qui bénéficie des privilèges nécessaires pour se connecter aux contrôleurs de domaine pour effectuer des opérations d'administration sur le réseau informatique. Il s'agit donc d'un ou plusieurs comptes très privilégiés qui sont généralement la cible des attaquants.
DDOS
Acronyme de Distributed Denial of Service. Une attaque qui vise à saturer les ressources d'un serveur informatique en le bombardant de requêtes émanant d'un grand nombre d'adresses IP différentes. Les adversaires qui procèdent à ce genre d'attaques contrôlent généralement un réseau de bots ou ordinateurs zombies, c'est à dire des ordinateurs qui ont été infectés et qui sont contrôlés silencieusement par l'attaquant.
ECSC
Acronyme de European Cyber Security Challenge. Une compétition de sécurité informatique destinée aux jeunes passionnés de 14 à 25 ans, et proposant aux équipes des différents pays européens de se mesurer entre eux au cours de différentes épreuves de sécurité.
EDR
Acronyme de Endpoint Detection and Response. Une technologie utilisée sur les endpoints, c'est à dire les ordinateurs et serveurs, permettant de détecter et potentiellement stopper les activités suspectes. Les EDR sont censés détecter des comportements malicieux plus que des signatures de fichiers malicieux, facilement contournables, ce qui est généralement un fonctionnement attribué aux solution antivirus.
EVPN
Acronyme de Ethernet Virtual Private Network. Un protocole réseau ayant pour but de chiffrer les données circulant sur un lien. Se situant sur des couches basses du modèle OSI, le chiffrement est censé y être réalisé de manière plus efficace et optimisée que les VPN traditionnels.
FIC
Acronyme de Forum International de la Cybersécurité. Rendez-vous annuel de la sécurité informatique auquel AlgoSecure est présent depuis plusieurs années, et se déroulant au Grand Palais de Lille à la fin janvier. Venez nous voir et rencontrer une partie de notre équipe !
FOVI
Acronyme de Faux Ordres de VIrement. Une attaque d'ingénierie sociale où l'attaquant a pour but de faire réaliser à une société un virement bancaire frauduleux vers un autre compte bancaire sous son contrôle. Elle est également appelée "fraude au virement", ou "arnaque au président", du fait que l'identité du président de la société y est souvent usurpée.
GPO
Acronyme de Group Policy Object. Les GPO sont des réglages, déployés par les administrateurs d'un réseau informatique Windows, sur tout ou partie des postes de travail et serveurs de l'entreprise. Ces réglages peuvent appliquer des restrictions, des privilèges, des scripts, ou modifier les paramètres d'un système, et ce, sans que l'administrateur n'ait besoin d'effectuer ces opérations manuellement sur chacune des machines de l'environnement.
IDS
Acronyme de Intrusion Detection System. Un système surveillant un réseau informatique et ayant pour but de détecter des attaques en temps-réel, grâce à des mécanismes principalement basés sur les comportements ou la réputation. Certains peuvent également baser leur détection sur un mécanisme de signature, bien que cette approche soit de moins en moins efficace, en tout cas contre les attaques ciblées.
IPS
Acronyme de Intrusion Prevention System. Il s'agit d'un système IDS évolué qui possède également des capacités de blocage des attaques détectées.
LAN
Acronyme de Local Area Network. Désigne le réseau informatique interne d'une entreprise, c'est à dire le réseau qui relie les serveurs et postes de travail entre eux, censé être non joignable depuis Internet. Par opposition au WAN qui désigne la partie externe du réseau informatique exposée sur Internet.
LAPS
Acronyme de Local Admin Password Solution. Une solution de sécurité informatique d'entreprise fournie par Microsoft et permettant de gérer facilement l'administration locale de l'ensemble des serveurs et postes de travail. Plutôt que de définir un seul et même mot de passe pour tous les comptes Administrateur locaux des serveurs et postes de travail, LAPS permet d'avoir un mot de passe de compte Administrateur local différent par machine.
LDAP
Acronyme de Lightweight Directory Access Protocol. Un protocole qui définit la manière de communiquer avec un annuaire afin de lire ou d'enregistrer des données. Avec le temps, il s'est développé et définit aujourd'hui la manière d'architecturer, stocker et nommer les données dans un annuaire.
LLMNR
Acronyme de Link-local Multicast Name Resolution. Un protocole de résolution de nom, successeur de NBT-NS, permettant donc de faire correspondre une adresse IP avec un nom de machine, exclusivement sur un réseau local. Il est habituellement utilisé au sein des réseaux d'entreprise Windows, mais souffre d'une vulnérabilité intrinsèque qui permet généralement à un attaquant de subtiliser les données d'authentification des utilisateurs. Il est donc fortement conseillé de le désactiver, après avoir installé un serveur DNS fonctionnel sur le réseau de l'entreprise.
MARION
Acronyme de Méthode d'Analyse de Risques Informatiques Optimisée par Niveau. Il s'agit d'une méthode d'analyse de risque française, au même titre que la méthode EBIOS par exemple. Le but est de proposer une méthode permettant d'identifier les risques auxquels une entreprise est soumise, afin par la suite de pouvoir agir sur ceux-ci. Il s'agit de l'ancêtre de la méthode MEHARI (Méthode Harmonisée d'Analyse des RIsques).
MCO
Acronyme de Maintien en Conditions Opérationnelles. La dernière phase d'un projet informatique qui consiste à assurer sa pérennité dans le temps. Concrètement, cela consiste en la supervision, l'entretien et la mise à jour des ressources informatiques. Malheureusement, c'est souvent une phase qui est sous-estimée dans un projet, alors que c'est grâce à elle qu'il est possible de réduire les probabilités d'un incident de sécurité.
MSP
Acronyme de Managed Service Provider. Une société de services informatiques qui s'occupe d'administrer et de superviser les services de ses clients à distance. L'intérêt pour un MSP est de bénéficier d'une source de revenus récurrente, grâce à une approche basée sur un abonnement, tout en soulageant ses clients de la gestion de leur système d'information.
NBT-NS
Acronyme de NetBIOS over TCP/IP Name Service. Système de nommage développé par IBM et utilisé par Windows pour faire communiquer les différentes machines d'un réseau entre elles. Il est habituellement utilisé au sein des réseaux d'entreprise Windows, mais souffre d'une vulnérabilité intrinsèque qui permet généralement à un attaquant de subtiliser les données d'authentification des utilisateurs. Il est donc fortement conseillé de le désactiver, après avoir installé un serveur DNS fonctionnel sur le réseau de l'entreprise.
NTDS
Acronyme de New Technologies Directory Services. Il s'agit de l'ancien nom d'Active Directory. Par abus de langage, désigne habituellement la base de données qui stocke l'ensemble de l'annuaire, c'est à dire les informations et privilèges des utilisateurs sur un réseau informatique Windows. Elle renferme entre autres l'ensemble des empreintes NTLM des mots de passe des utilisateurs du réseau Windows d'entreprise, et est donc très convoitée par les attaquants.
NTLM
Acronyme de New Technologies Lan Manager. Un mécanisme d'authentification dans les environnements informatiques Windows. Par abus de langage, désigne habituellement l'empreinte ou "hash" généré par un tel mécanisme pour stocker le mot de passe d'un utilisateur de système Windows. À des fins de différenciation, le protocole d'authentification réseau est généralement appelé Net-NTLM et existe en deux versions : Net-NTLMv1 et Net-NTLMv2.
OIV
Acronyme de Opérateur d'Importance Vitale. Il s'agit d'une appellation française visant à identifier les organisations ayant un rôle critique ou dangereux pour la population. De fait, des exigences de sécurité particulières s'appliquent à ces organisations. On peut y trouver des sociétés d'énergie, de transport, de communication, de production de matières dangereuses, ou ayant des activités militaires ou de recherche. La liste n'est pas communiquée publiquement.
PCA
Acronyme de Plan de Continuité d'Activité. Un ensemble de mesures permettant à une entreprise de continuer à fonctionner en cas de sinistre, panne ou incident majeur, tout en minimisant la durée d'interruption éventuelle. L'une des premières étapes est la réalisation d'une analyse de risques.
PDCA
Acronyme de Plan, Do, Check, Act. Aussi appelée "Roue de Deming", il s'agit d'une méthode de bon sens qui peut s'appliquer à tous les domaines. L'idée est de suivre un processus méthodologique visant à améliorer un produit ou un service, ou résoudre un problème, et ce, de manière efficace et durable. On prévoit une évolution, on l'implémente, on vérifie le résultat de l'implémentation, puis on agit pour corriger celle-ci et ajuster si nécessaire. Puis on recommence.
PRA
Acronyme de Plan de Reprise d'Activité. Un ensemble de démarches à effectuer après qu'un sinistre majeur soit survenu au sein d'une entreprise, et l'ayant obligé à cesser temporairement son activité. Comme pour le PCA, l'une des premières étapes est la réalisation d'une analyse de risques.
PSSI
Acronyme de Politique de Sécurité d'un Système d'Information. Un document de référence listant un ensemble de règles et de politiques visant à assurer la sécurité d'un système d'informations et reflétant la stratégie de l'entreprise ou de l'organisation.
PTES
Acronyme de Penetration Testing Execution Standard. Un document de référence qui liste les étapes et les méthodes à suivre pour la réalisation d'un audit de sécurité. Il s'agit d'un standard que toute société de services proposant des tests d'intrusion se doit de respecter, et que nous faisons évidemment.
SAM
Acronyme de Security Account Manager. La base de données locale permettant de stocker l'empreinte NTLM du mot de passe des comptes utilisateurs locaux d'un système Windows. La base SAM est stockée physiquement dans un fichier, et est également intégrée au registre Windows. L'accès à cette base de données et aux informations qu'elle renferme requiert bien évidemment des privilèges élevés sur le système.
SIEM
Acronyme de Security Information and Event Management. Il s'agit d'un système centralisant les journaux d'évènements des systèmes informatiques d'une entreprise, et permettant d'analyser et de corréler l'ensemble de ces traces afin d'identifier et comprendre une attaque informatique. Les SIEM permettent également de conserver ces traces à des fins d'archivage, et les plus évolués d'entre eux peuvent également rejouer les évènements de sécurité afin de permettre aux équipes défensives de perfectionner leurs défenses.
SIIV
Acronyme de Système d'Information d'Importance Vitale. Ce sigle désigne le système d'information d'un OIV, le SI (Système d'Information) d'un OIV est donc un SIIV. Des règles spécifiques énoncées par le cabinet du Premier ministre sont applicables aux SIIV selon le secteur d'activité de l'OIV qui les administre.
SMSI
Acronyme de Système de Management de la Sécurité de l'Information. Il s'agit d'un ensemble de règles et de politiques gouvernant la gestion de la sécurité de l'information. Un SMSI met davantage l'accent sur les processus et les personnes que sur la technologie pour assurer la sécurité de l'information.
SOC
Acronyme de Security Operation Center. Le SOC désigne l'équipe d'une entreprise qui supervise la sécurité de son système d'information. L'objectif d'un SOC est de gérer les incidents de sécurité et surveiller les actifs d'une entreprise afin de réagir rapidement et efficacement contre les attaques.
SQLi
Acronyme de Injection SQL. Le SQL (Structured Query Language) est un langage permettant à un site web ou une application logicielle de communiquer avec une base de données. Une injection SQL est une attaque exploitant une vulnérabilité de l'application communiquant avec la base de données, et permettant de détourner son fonctionnement original afin de lire ou modifier des données de manière illégitime.
SSL
Acronyme de Secure Socket Layer. Le protocole SSL régit la manière dont un ordinateur et un serveur échangent des données de manière sécurisée, plus spécifiquement la couche de chiffrement qui protège les données d'une potentielle interception pendant leur transmission entre les deux parties. Ce terme est aujourd'hui de moins en moins utilisé, au profit de l'évolution de ce protocole nommé TLS.
SYSVOL
Acronyme de SYStem VOLume. Un partage réseau, accessible à tous les utilisateurs d'un réseau Windows d'entreprise, et qui sert à stocker des scripts ou des GPO qui seront utilisées de manière automatique par les systèmes Windows qui y ont accès.
TLS
Acronyme de Transport Layer Security. Il s'agit de l'évolution du protocole SSL. Ce nouveau nom a entre autres été adopté du fait des différences structurelles entre les deux protocoles, et des gains en sécurité apportés par TLS. Différentes versions de ce protocole existent, la plus récente étant la version 1.3.
WAF
Acronyme de Web Application Firewall. Il s'agit d'un outil conçu pour être placé en amont d'un serveur web, et visant à bloquer certaines tentatives d'attaques basiques telles que les injections SQL ou failles XSS. Les WAF ont la réputation d'être délicats à implémenter au vu des faux-positif qu'ils peuvent générer, et d'avoir une efficacité toute relative. En cela, il est généralement conseillé de les intégrer en dernier recours, lorsque l'application potentiellement vulnérable qu'ils protègent ne peut pas être sécurisée dans un temps acceptable.
WAN
Acronyme de Wide Area Network. Il s'agit d'un réseau informatique large, reliant par exemple l'ensemble des ressources d'une société entre différentes villes, régions ou pays. Internet est souvent désigné comme étant le plus grand des WAN.
XSS
Acronyme de Cross-Site Scripting. Un type de vulnérabilité d'une application web dans laquelle l'attaquant est en mesure de faire exécuter du code Javascript dans le navigateur d'un autre utilisateur de l'application, à son insu. Pour cela, un manque de filtrage des données saisies et/ou un manque d'encodage de l'affichage des données sont exploités.

Vous avez activé l'option "Do Not Track" dans votre navigateur, nous respectons ce choix et ne suivons pas votre visite.